Life Lessons For A Reluctant Teen

Nearing the end of my teen years and heading towards the ‘real’ adulthood stages of my life. Where I move out, discover a career and begin to properly look after myself (not that my mum will become useless once I find my own way, it’ll just take me longer to get to the washing basket than before slightly.) I want to talk about the lessons I have learnt from 13 upwards.
IMG_1993
Once I hit the teenage section of my life, I so desperately wanted to be grown up. I wanted to be older, where everything was cooler and freedom seemed easy to get.Where I could leave the house when I wanted (still not really possible), go out with friends without the constant check-ups and being surrounded by many people who happen to think I was awesome. The world seemed better to be older, it seemed easier to wish away the years when the expectation was massive. This was the same with the secondary school as soon as I walked through the door I wanted the next day to be my last. Where all my exams are taken and passed ad “life just gets better”.

Don’t wish away your younger years :

It’s ok to be young and innocent. It’s ok to have to be home when the streets lights come on. Being a young teen will be an awesome part the life you’ll lead.

I spent much of my early teens wishing to be choosing my lessons (GCSEs in year 9) and when I finally reached that I was wishing for the end of school, by that point all I wanted was my 18th Birthday. Now 5 months after my 18th birthday, I’m just wishing to be back as a child running around the playground playing hop-scotch with no worries in my life.

Throughout my later years in secondary school, I was one of the many that had the bad habit of constantly comparing myself to every other living person on the planet. Not just through passing but through social media updates, simple conversations and the dreadful selfie that has filled our timeline since camera phones were invented (I’m also guilty of the dreaded selfie taker/ poster.) I would get irritated, angry and upset when walking through the halls of my old school because everyone else was “better” than me, in looks, personality and most certainly popularity. 20160210_212011000_iOS

Don’t compare yourself to anyone, YOU are good enough 

For years I would believe that I’m the bottom of the ‘food’ chain (yes I still get this feeling) that I’m nowhere near good enough for anyone in this world. But I soon began to realise that I don’t need to be good enough for anybody but myself. So the advice I would give my younger self-don’t beat yourself up over things that can’t change. Don’t hate yourself because you believe you look more like a boy than a girl, because you go bright red at the slightest sign of social  interaction. (Still reminding myself of this.)

Once I hit my 18th birthday,I thought it could only get better from there I was officially an adult and I genuinely believed that adults had it all figured out but I’ve been an adult for 5 months ( I know it’s not that wrong) and it only seems to be getting worse. I was pushed into making a quick decision on my education and career pathways. It seems it wasn’t the right decision for me after all. As I’m confused, hopeless and undecided on where I should take my life at this point because of the empty pathways and forgotten roads that I have taken.

Assure yourself that you are making the right decision for you at that time

Don’t let yourself be pushed into something that just isn’t for you, once you try something you have to understand that it’s ok for it not to be for you. There’s much more time in your life to trial and error many things before  settling on your final career path ( a thing I can’t seem to get into my head. )

These are what I would suggest for a reluctant teen, as I know I am one and probably always will be. Even after my teen years have technically ended. Don’t be fooled stress happens to everyone, don’t listen to the parents that say “you can’t be stressed, your only a child”

 

Leave a Reply

